Bowness-on-Solway

Bowness-on-Solway is a small coastal village which combines traditional Cumbrian cottages and a beautiful landscape with the rugged shoreline of the Solway Firth. The path at Hadrian´s Wall ends at the village, and is also situated on the Hadrian´s cycleway. This is also the perfect place for bird watching as the region is a haven for migrating birds.

If you want to explore the Lake District, why not book to stay in a romantic Windermere cottage and make the most of your stay? With only around 100 houses, and a tiny population, the area of Bowness-on-Solway offers visitors one of the most beautiful natural landscapes in the Lake District.

In 1869, the Solway Junction Railway opened between Bowness-on-Solway and Annan in Scotland, which also connected with Maryport and Carlisle Railway. The construction of the railway required a 1 mile iron viaduct across the Solway, the remains of which can still be seen today. In 1875 and 1881 the viaduct was damaged by ice, which caused nearby Port Carlisle to get blocked with silt and lose trade. The Port of Carlisle was then abandoned to Carlisle Railway. In 1914 the railway was restricted to carry freight only and in 1921 it was closed completely. In 1934 the viaduct was demolished. According to locals, the viaduct was demolished to prevent Scotsmen crossing into England on Sundays, as the sale of alcohol was banned in Scotland on the Sabbath, and then falling off the viaduct into the Solway.

The 12th century St Michael´s Church was restored in 1891, and is situated on, what is thought to be one of the original sites of Roman fort buildings. The structure is made of stone from Hadrian´s Wall, and the building consists of a wide single chamber, a nave, a south porch and a double bell tower. The east memorial window was presented by Thomas Wilson who his formerly of Thistlewood, in memory of his parents, and the Norman font was dug up in the garden next to the church in 1848.

Although the tower bells are not original ones, which were apparently stolen by the Scots in 1626 and ditched in the Solway, they are said to have been replaced by bells from Scotland´s Middlebie Church in Dumfries which was raided as an act of revenge. The old rectory house was demolished in 1860 and in 1872 the Wesleyan Home Mission Chapel was constructed.

Industry in the area consisted of farming and shallow water fishing.

Bowness-on-Solway information and things to do

Follow a signpost from the village to the Banks, which is a promenade, constructed during Edwardian times in the early 20th century. Offering great views over the Solway Firth, and interpretive panels narrating the history of the village, you can also find information about local bird life from here. A Roman style interpretative mosaic has also been added to show the bird life of the Solway and the Roman water gods from bygone days. Carved seats have been added with poetry depicting the languages of the village and showing its diverse history and culture.

Looking for somewhere special to stay in the Lakes? Why not book into a luxurious Windermere cottage with hot tub?